Occupancy Standards

Occupancy Standards

HACLA Section 8 Occupancy Standards are the number of bedrooms a family qualifies based on the number of persons in the household. 

How does the Housing Authority determine the number of bedrooms on my voucher?

The Housing Authority counts the number of persons in your family when determining unit size. The Housing Authority does not make distinctions based on sex and age of family members, nor the relationship of persons in the family. The Housing Authority applies these criteria and standards to all families.

How many bedrooms will I qualify for?

The Housing Authority has set the following Occupancy Standards for family and unit size:

Number of Family Members Bedrooms
1 - 2 1
3 - 4 2
5 - 6 3
7 - 8 4
9 - 10 5
11 - 12 6
What if I need an extra bedroom?

The Housing Authority can only approve an additional bedroom as a reasonable accommodation.

Can I select an apartment that is larger or smaller than the one determined by the Housing Authority?

Yes, provided it does not violate the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development's (HUD's) Housing Quality Standards (HQS) space requirement. HUD's HQS space requirement allows two persons per room. The Housing Authority must always use the smaller of the voucher bedroom size or the actual unit size to determine the subsidy. Example: You have a 2-Bedroom Voucher. You have selected a 3-Bedroom unit. The 2-Bedroom Voucher Payment Standard (VPS) will be used to calculate your tenant portion of the rent.

If my family size increases, will the Housing Authority subsidize a larger apartment?

Each year the Housing Authority will review the unit size assigned to your family. If your current unit size is too small, the Housing Authority may give you a new Voucher.

Do you have more Occupancy Standard questions?

For information, please call the HACLA's main number at 833-HACLA-4-U or 833-422-5248. Additioanlly, please refer to the HACLA Section 8 Administrative Plan for more detailed information on Occupancy Standards.